About Health Centers

FQHC is an acronym for Federally Qualified Health Center — a community health center that has been designated by the federal government by adhering to regulations pertaining to the scope and quality of health services provided to anyone, regardless of ability to pay.

Community health centers provide high quality health care to the under-served and uninsured. Nationwide there are over 1,200 community health centers. In Connecticut there are 17 Community Health Centers; 16 are members of CHCACT.

Health care services are conveniently located, coordinated, and tailored to meet patients’ needs. Community health centers offer “one-stop shopping” for:

  • primary and preventive health care visits
  • lab services
  • dental
  • behavioral health services and case management

Community health center staff and providers are as diverse as the patients that they serve — many are bilingual and residents of the community.

In 2016, over 376,000 patients from across Connecticut received their care from Connecticut’s federally-qualified health centers. Approximately 63% were on the state’s HUSKY program (Medicaid) and 16% were uninsured.

All Health centers offer a sliding fee scale for the uninsured and lower income patients to enable patients of all income levels to access services.

Community health centers serve all races, ages, and walks of life. Nearly one-third of patients are women and one-third are children. As the costs of health care continues to rise, more and more Connecticut residents will be turning to community health centers for their care.

An FQHC Look-Alike is a health center that has been identified by the Health Resources and Services Administration and certified by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services as meeting the definition of “health center,” although it does not receive grant funding from the federal government.